Saturday, 4 October 2008

A new set of books has now been confirmed by BBC Children's Books. The set, entitled The Darksmith Legacy, will launch next January, and continue throughout the year. Two books will be released in January, and then after that there will be one every month, until September 2009. Apparently, they will be 'gripping' and "fans will be eager to continue the ongoing adventure and collect all ten titles". You can view these ten titles below;

1. The Dust Of Ages
The Doctor arrives just in time to lend a helping hand to a survey team of scientists drilling beneath the Moon’s surface to discover the cause of an unusual power source. The adventure continues with deadly lunar dust and a Crystal that has been lost for centuries…. Unfortunately it’s just what the Darksmiths have been looking for and they have despatched an Agent to recover it. At any cost. (Released 29th January)

2. The Graves Of Mordane
Convinced that the Doctor is Varlos, the Agent demands the return of the Eternity Crystal. But what happened on Mordane to make the Crystal too dangerous to be left on the Moon? The Doctor has to convince the Agent that he is not Varlos and doesn’t know what happened on Mordane, then escape with the TARDIS and find out. The Doctor decides that the Eternity Crystal must be destroyed but before he can the Agent and the Crystal vanish. He has to find the Agent, which leaves the Doctor only one option, and he doesn’t like it…
(released 26th February)

3. The Colour Of Darkness
The Doctor travels to Karagula to meet the fabled Darksmiths in a bid to outwit the Agent and get the crystal. Can the Doctor uncover the mystery of the childless village? Who is the travelling Dreams-Merchant? Is there a link with the Dark Cathedral of the Darksmiths? Will the Agent arrive and identify the Doctor to the Darksmiths? Find out by reading the third exciting instalment of The Darksmith Legacy! (Released 26th March)

Book Four - The Depths of Despair - (26th March)
Book Five - The Vampire of Paris - (TBA)
Book Six - The Game of Death - (TBA)
Book Seven - The Planet of Oblivion - (TBA)
Book Eight - The Picture of Emptiness - (TBA)
Book Nine - The Art of War - (TBA)
Book Ten - The End of Time - (TBA)
There will be a new site set up at, but the website is not up and running yet. It will be, though, in mid-November.
By registering on the site, visitors can create their own avatar and alien identity and begin collecting eternity points, crucial to the Doctor’s survival. Collaboration with other fans online to earn extra points will release exclusive content and assist in the Quest to keep the precious Eternity Crystal safe from the dangerous Darksmith Collective. A multi platform experience, The Darksmith Legacy offers the adventure of a book serialisation with the additional interactivity and exclusive content that can only be achieved online.
The synopsises have also been released for the first three books, which you can see in a newer post. Below is a picture, thanks to Doctor Who Online showing some information and the first book covers;

Thanks to Adventures Through Time And Space for the info in this post =)

No comments: